Shadows

Nights are darker now 

your shadows fill the room 

your smile haunts my memory 

the pain of death too soon 

oh to hear your voice again 

that laugh I held so dear

the last hug before you left 

both our eyes filled with tears 

I thought I knew what suffering was 

that I’d experienced death 

I did not know how lucky I was 

or how I had been blessed 

life is short i’ve learned 

what are we living it for?

are we present here and now 

Or look only to the future?

one cannot predict 

we do not know our wants 

what we took for granted 

These are the shadows that haunt

Leave a Reply

